Moving on up

The Issues Desk

Recently, I’ve heard lots of stories from people who have applied for jobs internally in order to further develop their careers but been passed over for external candidates. As these people are friends I’m both completely biased and pretty outraged but I just had the revelation that this has actually happened to me a lot too.

The example that sticks out for me the best was when I applied for a front facing library position at the organisation I had been at for a number of years. I thought I could be quite good at this as prior to my library career I had almost 10 years of hospitality experience and I knew the organisation very well. When I interviewed however, I quickly realised I had very little experience with Maori and when I was called back learned this was why I had not got the job. I respected this…

View original post 488 more words

Leave a Reply

