Let’s get philisophical

The Issues Desk

Let’s get philosophical.

Who are we? Who am I?

This existential crisis (which, if I’m being honest, tends to be a daily occurrence) came about this afternoon as I was filling out a survey for my bank.

The culprit? Exhibit A:

Capture

Which of these groups best describes my current occupation, you ask?

I read through all of the options, with only the tinniest hint of fear in the back of my mind that I wouldn’t fit anywhere. Many were easy to discount. I am very much not retired, I’m terrible at “home duties”, and I don’t deal with things that are alive (excluding colleagues and students, obvs).

I ended up feeling like I should sit somewhere in between “other trained service worker” and “Professional”. (At times I have felt like I would fit in the “Clerical” category, and the services my institution offers are catered to our customers.)

What it…

View original post 117 more words

Leave a Reply

