18th of June: A work in progress

Oh I’m so excited to read this!

Melina Marchetta

I feel a bit guilty that I haven’t blogged since the end of March, so I’ll start by saying that I’ve been trying to write a novel this past year.

It’s not YA and it’s not fantasy and it’s not set in Australia and it’s not set in America and it’s not set in a fictitious country. I’m saying all that because it means I’m writing something that doesn’t belong to my regular publishers. Scary and exciting at the same time. It’s almost like starting from scratch (not the writing, but the publishing experience).

And the one thing that I will state from this moment on is that writing an adult novel is not harder than writing a YA novel, and one day if it gets published, reading my adult novel will not be harder than reading my YA novels. I remember when The Piper’s Son came out, a journalist…

View original post 243 more words

Leave a Reply

